Morning in the Mountains

I rose early to greet the sunrise that morning to find that I would be the one to receive a greeting first – from a lone whippoorwill.

The sun was not yet hinting its arrival but this nocturnal bird was singing in anticipation of its coming bedtime. Singing his name, “Whippoorwill!”,  I soon came to hear “Yes, It Will!, Yes, It Will!” Every couple of moments, the source of the song would move to a different tree in the nearby grove – almost as if he were looking for a better vantage point to see the sun’s arrival.

As if awakened or encouraged by this lone singer, a chorus of other birds joined the song – one by one, then a small ensemble, then another. While adjusting to identify the new solos, trios and ensembles, I failed to realize that the first herald, the whippoorwill, was no longer in the choir. Whether he had completed his duty or moved on to settle down for a day’s rest I do not know.

What I do know is this:

This is my Father’s world
And to my listen ears
All natures sings
And round me rings
The music of the spheres.

Leave a Reply

